Our Approach

U.S. Conference of Mayors: North Carolina Members

At its June annual meeting, the U.S. Conference of Mayors will vote on a resolution to support a national commitment to building an Early Learning Nation by the year 2025. Cities are engaging in some of the country’s most innovative early childhood work, and the resolution provides an opportunity to call attention to the role that local communities can play in ensuring children have the opportunity to realize their potential.

Let’s get all of our Mayors to endorse this Resolution! In North Carolina, there are 31 mayors who are members of the U.S. Conference of Mayors. Contact your mayor and ask them to:

  • Add their name to the resolution by sending their name to Mayor Ed Murray of Seattle, care of Shauna Larsen at Shauna.larsen@seattle.gov.
City Mayor Phone Email
Apex William M. ‘Bill’ Sutton 919-362-7300 bill.sutton@apexnc.org
Asheville Esther E. Manheimer 828-259-5600 esthermanheimer@avlcouncil.com
Burlington Ronnie K. Wall 336-222-5020 rwall@ci.burlington.nc.us
Cary Harold Weinbrecht, Jr. 919-469-4011 Harold.Weinbrecht@townofcary.org
Chapel Hill Mark Kleinschmidt 919-968-2714 mkleinschmidt@townofchapelhill.org
Charlotte Daniel ‘Dan’ Clodfelter 704-336-2244 mayor@charlottenc.gov
Concord J. Scott Padgett 704-920-5215 Padgetts@ci.concord.nc.us
Durham William V. ‘Bill’ Bell 919-560-4333 bill.bell@durhamnc.gov
Fayetteville Nat Robertson 910-433-1992 mayor@ci.fay.nc.us
Gastonia John Bridgeman 704-866-6720 mayorb@cityofgastonia.com
Goldsboro Alfonzo ‘Al’ King 919-580-4330
Greensboro Nancy Vaughan 336-373-2396 nancy.vaughan@greensboro-nc.gov
Greenville Allen M. Thomas 252-329-4419 amthomas@greenvillenc.gov
Hickory G. Rudy Wright 828-323-7400 rudy@asigncohickory.com
High Point Bernita Sims 336-883-3305 bernita.sims@highpointnc.gov
Huntersville Jill Swain 704-875-6541 jswain@huntersville.org
Indian Trail Michael Alvarez 704-821-8114 mayor@council.indiantrail.org
Jacksonville Sammy Phillips 910-938-5200 mayor@ci.jacksonville.nc.us
Kannapolis M. Darrell Hinnant 704-920-4300 dhinnant@cityofkannapolis.com
Monroe Bobby G. Kilgore 704-282-4528 bkilgore@monroenc.org
Mooresville Miles Atkins 704-799-4210 matkins@ci.mooresville.nc.us
New Bern Dana E. Outlaw 252-639-2702 dana@danaoutlaw.com
Raleigh Nancy McFarlane 919-890-3050 nancy.mcfarlane@raleighnc.gov
Rocky Mount David W. Combs 919-937-2121 davidcombsmayor@aol.com
Salisbury Paul B. Woodson, Jr. 704-638-5231 Paul.Woodson@salisburync.gov
Sanford T. Chet Mann 919-777-1110 sanfordmayor@yahoo.com
Wake Forest Vivian Jones 919-435-9431 mayor@wakeforestnc.gov
Waxhaw Daune Gardner 704-843-2195 Ext. 27 mayor@waxhaw.com
Wilmington Bill Saffo 910-341-7815 bill.saffo@wilmingtonnc.gov
Wilson C. Bruce Rose 252-399-2310 brose@wilsonnc.org
Winston-Salem James Allen Joines 336-727-2058 allenj@cityofws.org